Friday’s Food For Thought: Love Letter Edition #2

On March 31, 1952, Dick Hauck wrote a special letter to his sweetheart, Arlene. He was serving in the Army and stationed away from her while she waited at home. As they courted, they wrote letters everyday, and have a box of them saved to this day.

The most important letter wasn’t included in that collection, however, as it was lost nearly 60 years ago.

Photo from Kare11 news

It was the letter in which 21-year-old Dick proposed to his now wife. The pair have now been happily married all these years. The lost letter was found by two contractors who were remodeling an old home, Arlene’s childhood home, as they removed the old flooring. They delivered it back to the couple almost 60 years to the day of when it was written.

Dick became noticeably emotional as he relived his feelings from that day and read through the letter again, all these years later.

To be honest, I became noticeably emotional as he relived his feelings from that day and read through the letter again, all these years later. And I’ll admit that my eyes filled with tears as his voice cracked while reading, “I got your ring today, I sure hope you will like it. I wish I could have gotten it long ago darling.”

Dick flew home a few weeks after sending the letter and the two were married in June. They say the secret to their lasting marriage is friendship.

Photo from Kare11 news

You can read the story of the love letter here.  I’d love to know what you think of this story!

Categories: Friday's Food for Thought | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Food For Thought: Love Letter Edition #2

  1. What a sweet story. I got choked up too! 🙂

    • I have to say that when I set out to find some marriage-related news stories each week, I had no idea I’d find out about such great people. I do love a good love story, though!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

