Friday’s Food for Thought: Real meaning of MPH…

Ok guys, it’s Friday’s Food for Thought time!

Are you excited?

Yes?

Good!.

(If the answer was no, I ignored you…)

Anyway, I saw this video on Facebook, posted by a couple-based blog I liked a few months back to try to win some sort of giveaway.

The background of the story is that the couple is traveling a long way in a car with no radio after staying up all night studying for finals. Clearly, the girl’s poor brain is fried.

They are a young married couple, both college students, and I think their story is really cute.

Here’s the video.

Why do I like this video so much?

Because I relate to it.

We all relate to it.

We all have moments when we just DO NOT and CAN NOT understand a concept our spouse is trying to explain to us. (It doesn’t have to be a spouse, it could be a friend or family, but often times, the emotional stakes are higher when it’s a spouse.)

It happens all the time with Wyatt and I. He’s very analytical. That’s what he does for a living. He’s a business analyst. Seriously. He’s good at math and numbers and formulas.

I’m good at writing and words and reading comprehension.

It’s not that we can’t understand other concepts, it just takes more effort.

(We also understand the kind of conversation that happens when you drive more than an hour in a car with no radio…since Hubs had his radio stolen  months ago.)

The problem with this video is that it went viral. The husband never meant for it to go viral. He posted it online to show their friends and family.

It just so happened that a few months after he posted it, it went crazy, as things on the internet can do.

I don’t think he mean any disrespect for her. I think they’re a young couple that have a friendship-based relationship. We tease our friends, they tease us. It’s part of the things that make up a friendship, right?

And they seem to still be happily married… and they’ve made some money off of the deal, right?

Check out the news story here:

http://cdnapi.kaltura.com/index.php/kwidget/wid/1_8uaucsj2/uiconf_id/5590821

or here.

And it’s always positive when a couple is able to get past an argument by realizing marriage is so much more than emotions.

“I realized our marriage is deeper than that…” she says.

So true.

So, let’s hear it. Do you think he’s a bad guy for posting this? Do we believe they are just having fun and teasing? What about in your relationship, has something like this ever happened to you?

Categories: Friday's Food for Thought | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Food for Thought: Real meaning of MPH…

  1. This is funny, because Jeremy was watching this video a couple days ago while I was trying to do homework, and I was “mad” at him because I couldn’t focus. Of course we were both laughing about it. I definitely love that we’re best friends and think it’s a super important part of marriage. But if I were that girl, I think I’d ask him to delete the video when it started gaining popularity… 😉 I don’t like being the center of attention that much. Haha.

    • I agree! I wouldn’t want to go on Good Morning America! But, the video and story was still cute and funny I think. And I so understand the best friend thing. I can’t imagine it being any other way in our marriage! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

