Friday’s Food for Thought: Way to go, Jim.

Last night, Hubs and I sat and watched the Office.

I wanted to post it but it’s not online yet, so here’s a brief description:

Jim is away on business. There’s a girl there that’s normal and fun and they hang out and get along. And at first it seems normal and fine. Until she shows up at his hotel room door saying the thermostat is her room is messed up and asking if she can hang out with him.

He does his best to keep his distance and get rid of her, but finally, he confronts her, saying he’s a happily married man. She insults his judgement and acts like he’s totally out of line for saying it. And then proceeds to be even more inappropriate.

And he finally tells her to leave, and gets Dwight to come drive her away.

As I watched, I couldn’t help but ask Wyatt what he would do if that happened.

He couldn’t help but laugh and laugh and laugh.

He assured me it would never, ever happen. But I pressed on, and we established that I would be totally fine if he went down to the lobby and reserved another room and locked her out of it. I wouldn’t care at all, no matter what it cost. Even if the only room available was the penthouse suite.

Marriage boundaries are something I’m super passionate about. Maybe because I’m old fashioned. Or maybe this never goes our of style…

Obviously, the show was a crazy example of something that will likely never happen in real life. But the principle is the same. Marriage is sacred and should be treated carefully and respected by all. If there’s a threat, it needs to be addressed.

And it’s not the first TV episode that’s inspired some good conversations. I may not like being lazy at night, but I enjoy any conversation that ends with laughter and smiles.

What do you think? Are there other examples that have inspired similar conversations in your marriage? I’d love to know your thoughts on this!

Categories: Friday's Food for Thought | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Food for Thought: Way to go, Jim.

  1. Oh shoot…I haven’t seen that episode yet! But based on her reaction a few weeks ago, I guess it was kind of to be expected.

    Love that you guys talked about this. And actually, this kind of stuff happens ALL THE TIME in real life. Maybe not to you or your husband, but when I was in my 20s a married man I knew was at a conference I was attending, and he made some lame excuse to come to my room and try to hit on me. I was appalled.

    In this crazy world we live in, marriage boundaries are SOOO important. I know men who won’t even drive in a car alone with another woman, EVER…not even for work. My husband probably wouldn’t do that either. But to know that he wouldn’t feels VERY respectful and honoring of our marriage.

    Bottom line, even if our spouse is trustworthy and faithful, it doesn’t mean that other people will be. Ever read about Joseph’s accusation by Potipher’s wife? That’s a doozy! http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Genesis%2039:7-20

    • Yes! I love that you linked to that story. I’ve been so passionate about this, even to the point of disagreeing with several of my friends, and yet I’ve never made that connection! I mean, I’ve heard that story many times, but I’m ready to read it again in this light.

      I think one of the reason so many marriages fail is that people don’t always treat it that much differently than a dating relationship. But a marriage is completely different! Not that cheating, or putting yourself in that position, is okay during a dating relationship. It’s just that marriage is in a whole other playing field. The stakes are so much higher! The commitment and respect needs to be as well.

      P.S. I’m so so so sorry if I ruined an episode for you! Or anyone!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

