Friday’s Food for Thought!

Today, as the second installment of Friday’s Food for Thought, I wanted to share a song that’s especially special to me.

Why?

Well, because I heard this song on KLove for the first time while driving to school from my internship on a cold, rainy, Winter day last February, and immediately went home and googled it.

It was perfect and beautiful. So we played this during our wedding when we were writing in our love story book together.

No, the ages of the couple in the song aren’t the same age as Wyatt and me, but it’s still the idea that Hubs and I are young, and were VERY young when we started dating. No one thought we would make it, and no, we don’t have a lot of money, but we’re happy, and we’re committed. The first verse is my favorite.

Plus, I love how it ties in the idea of God’s love being a great example of how we’re to lay down our lives for each other. Marriage is special because even though putting our spouse above ourselves is a sacrifice, it doesn’t feel like we’re missing anything. In fact, we’re gaining everything. The second verse is my favorite.

And then the part at the end when it talks about helping each other remember we ever lose our way or forget who we are. And how we don’t have to fear, because even in the scary, dark times, we’re never alone. We have each other. And we have our Father. The end is my favorite.

🙂

Are you sensing a theme here?

Anyway, I’d love to know what you think!

 

Categories: Friday's Food for Thought | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Friday’s Food for Thought!

  1. I really love this song, too — which I heard for the first time because you used it in your wedding. You had really good luck finding great songs for your wedding and the recessional … maybe you can help me find a good one. I want an upbeat one like yours at the end, but I can’t find anything that feels just right. I’d like to just *remember* suddenly a great one I’ve known all along that Matt and I like and fits great, so it’s extra special … but so far not so much luck on that.

    • Thanks! I loved the song we used at the end, too!. But it was luck finding it. I’d never heard it before, but knew it was perfect. I’d say listen to pandora on a station that has similar songs to what you want. You never know!

  2. john

    I think the heart of the song is the part of “when I lose my way” “when you loose loves chains” (hope those are the words) the line of “remind me ” is extra strong saying you may have to fight for what is yours, if your spouse is moving away from you, you better remind them of the vows and fight for them. and how touching the line that ‘fi I forget my name” remind me. Also like the parallel of walking in the shadows with Psalm 23.

  3. john

    ps song is #15 on your wedding cd, least my copy.

  4. I love this song. I had never heard it before this blog, but I love the video. I find older couples to be such an inspiration, and to see them dancing with their sweethearts…well, just precious. 🙂

    • I love it, too! It’s simply wonderful! And I, too, find older couples, especially those in our families to be so inspiring and worth celebrating! We paid special tribute to our parents and grandparents during our wedding because of exactly that! Thanks for commenting!

  5. agreed! I love this song! 🙂 so beautiful! and an accurate portrayal of marriage and love. not the fake over the topness that is found in most “love” songs.

    🙂

  6. Pingback: How we’re doing on “happily-ever-after:” The Anniversary Post « the newlywed wife

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

