Working Late – ADVICE FROM YOU!

I haven’t had one of these “Please help!” posts in a while. Maybe because we’re feeling more settled in our marriage and we don’t have as many moments that leave us thinking, “I wonder how other people figure this stuff out…” Or maybe because life has been so crazy focused on our house and work that we haven’t had a lot of time to really dig deep in these marriage issues that sometimes come up.

As I write this, Hubs is still not home from work on a Friday night. He’s worked long hours all week. And all last week. And the week before that.

We were gone all last week because he had to work out of town. I went with him hoping to spend some quality time together during the evenings and on the weekends, but even that time was mostly filled with him responding to emails, finishing projects on his laptop while I read, or him needing to go to bed early so he could get up early and do it all over again the next day.

I love that he loves his job. And I’m so thankful he can do something he enjoys (mostly!) to support our little family and help us have this beautiful home we love.

I even like that he sometimes has work to do at home. I don’t mind reading quietly or working on projects of my own for an hour or so of an evening if he has work to do. It’s nice to be able to sit quietly with our own projects and still just be there with each other.

But I’m at a loss as to what to do to help him relax when he comes home and has time to unplug from the day or week he’s had.

Don’t get me wrong, we still enjoy our evenings together, but lately, I can tell work’s been on his mind more than before. I know every job is a different situation and there are certain times when we need to be accessible by email and phone. But I’m just wondering how we decide what things are “work-free” zones and how to best really commit to being present in those moments when work is always in the back of our mind?

So, friends, tell me, what are your best tips for helping your honey relax when he can’t stop thinking about work? And how do you find the balance between work and play and time at home?

Categories: Advice | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Working Late – ADVICE FROM YOU!

  1. Does he have a hobby? My hubby’s thing is strategy games, and he loves it when I try to play with him. He still struggles with balance of work and play, but I know he’d be super stressed without a fun outlet. I don’t know if that helps – we’re only five months in the marriage thing – and Ryan’s job is more frustrating than time-consuming.

    • That’s a great idea! I’m sure if I invite him to do something he enjoys, he’ll have a hard time passing it up even he knows he has work he could do! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Some things I like to do…
    A. Hand him a beer. (I don’t know your stance of alcohol) but just the guessture and the mental “ahhhh” he gets from a single cold beer (or favorite beverage) helps get him in the right state of mind.
    B. I cuddle. I make sure to give him hugs. I’ll give him a shoulder rub. Rub his back.
    C. We watch a show together that we both enjoy.
    D. Some good old fashion husband and wife time behind closed doors ;) It brings you together. It makes you focus on each other and it is relaxing.

  3. The other day I had a card waiting on the table for my husband when he got home from work, basically telling him how much I love and appreciate him. At the bottom, I said “Coffee and Blockbuster date? …on me?” Of course, he agreed and it was a fun way for us to get out of the house and chit chat about stuff other than work.

    • Fun! I think sometimes that’s a big key, getting out of the house. We have a groupon to use up tonight so hopefully that will be a fun time for us! Thanks for sharing your idea!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

