Friday’s Food For Thought: Marriage Week

Hi guys!

Thanks for stopping by for Friday’s Food For Thought!

Sorry it’s almost Saturday now…hopefully you’ll forgive me. I got called back into work tonight (after I left there at 2.)

Anyway, I wanted to let you know that it’s National Marriage Week this week.

This is the logo from their website. Go check it out.

It runs February 7-14, and according to their website, the focus is a “collaborative effort to encourage many diverse groups to strengthen individual marriages, reduce the divorce rate, and build a stronger marriage culture, which in turn helps curtail poverty and benefits children.”

I haven’t been to any of their events, but I’m sure there are some good ones. If there’s one in your area, you should go and report back. Consider it an assignment!

Just kidding.

But if you do go, I’d love to hear about it.

Anyway, I certainly think it’s a good idea to make it a focus for churches for step up and take responsibility for teaching their members what it means to work at a marriage. Of course, in an ideal world, that wouldn’t be an issue. In an ideal world, we would all love perfectly.

But, even if great relationships, there’s struggles and times when it’s easier to “fight or flight” instead of taking the time to work something out. I’m not saying there aren’t cases when things have simply gone too far and no amount of work can take back all the hurt and brokenness. What I am saying is that we need to do what we can to help each other not reach that point.

There looks to be some resources for sale through their site, and a calendar of events that can be searched by location. I’d love to know if any of you have heard of this before. I happened to hear it mentioned on the radio and wasn’t sure what it was so I googled it and found this!

I think one of the coolest parts is their promotion of “Date Night Challenge,” through Focus on the Family.

It’s the idea for couples to go on three dates in three weeks, in an attempt to form a habit and hopefully strengthen or rebuild relationships. Dating is so important! Why do we all remember our own pre-wedding days with our spouses so fondly? Because during those times, we’re SO committed to making the other person happy, giving them a reason to love us, and just enjoying the more limited (and precious) time we had together. Life gets in the way easily, so it’s hard to make time. That’s why this little jump start to dating seems like a fun idea!

Check it out here.

What do you think? Is marriage week a good thing? Can it work? How SHOULD we be working on our marriages?

 

Categories: Friday's Food for Thought | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Friday’s Food For Thought: Marriage Week

  1. Courtney Watson

    I get the impression that you are not for marriage equality. ” Focus on the Family” is a very “right-wing” organization that makes wild accusations and lies regarding homosexuals and family planning.

    • Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave a comment. I posted this link because it was related to the National Marriage Week promotion. I wasn’t trying to stir up any negative discussions or promote or discredit their ministries. With any organization or cause, there will be two sides, and positives and negatives. My personal opinions regarding marriage are strongly based in my faith, but I was simply wanting to let my readers know there was a marriage week promotion and one of the events that went along with it.

  2. I’m not married yet (only recently engaged), but I love the idea of marriage week. I think it’s a great way to strengthen a marriage, learn new things and to continue growing with your spouse. My church is actually hosting Dr. Doug Weiss, PhD this weekend. He’s doing a seminar on Intimacy in Marriage. I think it’s just such a great thing. Marriage is a lifetime commitment. It takes a lot of hard work and most definitely requires maintenance/tuning. So, I’m all for anything that strengthens that bond b/w spouses. I look forward to sharing those times with my future husband. :-)

    • Thanks for the comment! And congratulations on being engaged! I wish you a lifetime of happiness! It’s great that you already realize that marriage takes time and work to make it last. That will make the first fights a little easier to move past. :) As for the marriage week promotion, I’d love to hear how it goes!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 575 other followers

